MLA Citation

The MLA Citation, the Association's tribute for lifetime achievement, is awarded in recognition of distinguished service to music librarianship over a career. Citation recipients become Honorary Members of the Music Library Association.


2020: Michael Rogan

In a career spanning over three decades, this year’s recipient has held several significant positions in MLA, including service as Newsletter Editor, Local Arrangements Chair, member-at-large on the Board, Treasurer/Executive Secretary, and President.

While the scope of his service is impressive, it is the manner in which he fulfilled these tasks that calls for recognition. His approach is always one of careful thought, followed by effective action, often exceeding the expectations of the office. His creativity and willingness to take risks, led to significant changes in the Association, including moving the Newsletter away from mere reporting to a documentation of MLA’s larger goals, establishing the positions of Administrative Officer and Assistant Administrative Officer, and widening the reach of MLA by bringing to fruition his idea of a Pan-American IAML meeting in Orlando.

He has championed students and new members while honoring the history and contributions of his predecessors, simultaneously inspiring other members through example and encouragement. His contributions to MLA have strengthened and improved its internal functions and its position in the world of librarianship, and we are a better organization thanks to his involvement.

The Music Library Association is pleased to confer upon Michael Rogan The MLA Citation.

Past recipients

2019 Jay Weitz 2018 Geraldine Ostrove
2017 Morris Martin 2016 David Gilbert
2015 Jane Gottlieb 2014 James P. Cassaro
2013 Bonna Boettcher
2009 Linda Solow Blotner

2008 A. Ralph Papakhian
2005 Joseph Boonin

2003 Paula Matthews
2001 Carol June Bradley
Stephen M. Fry
Melva L. Peterson

1999 Richard F. French
1998 Mary Wallace Davidson

1997 Ida Reed
1996 Don L. Roberts

1994 Susan T. Sommer
1993 Ann Basart

1991 Lenore Coral
1990 James B. Coover
Nicolas Slonimsky

1989 Thor E. Wood 1988 D.W. Krummel

1987 Barry S. Brook 1986 Ruth Watanabe
Dena J. Epstein

1985 Walter Gerboth 1984 Carleton Sprague Smith
Richard Angell

1983 William Schwann
Frank C. Campbell
1982 Florence Kretzschmar

1980 Anna Harriet Heyer
Vincent H. Duckles
1979 Otto Albrecht

1978 William J. Weichlein
Mary Lou Little
Edward E. Colby
1976 William Lichtenwanger

1974 Elizabeth Olmsted
Irene Millen
1971 Edward Waters
Harold Spivacke
Virginia Cunningham

1970 Kurtz Myers
1967 Mary Rogers

1966 Richard S. Hill
Catharine K. Miller
Philip L. Miller
Helen J. Sleeper
1965 George Sherman Dickinson
Barbara Duncan
Otto Kinkeldey
Eva Judd O'Meara



Music Library Association 1600 Aspen Commons Suite 100 Middleton, WI 53562

608-831-8200 FAX
About MLA

The Music Library Association is the professional association for music libraries and librarianship in the United States. Founded in 1931, it has an international membership of librarians, musicians, scholars, educators, and members of the book and music trades. Complementing the Association’s national and international activities are eleven regional chapters that carry out its programs on the local level.