Donate   |   Join
Community Search
Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't joined yet?


8/5/2016 » 8/6/2016
Joint West Coast Chapter Meeting


MLA Citation
Share |

The MLA Citation, the Association's tribute for lifetime achievement, is awarded in recognition of distinguished service to music librarianship over a career. Citation recipients become Honorary Members of the Music Library Association.


2016 recipient: David Gilbert

"He has served the profession as editor, leader, mentor, and visionary. Over 25 years as a music librarian at institutions both large and small, he has diligently maintained a standard of service and scholarship in spite of challenges, which remains a model to others. In 30 years as an MLA member he has served on the Board of Directors, edited the Music Review column for Notes, chaired a strategic planning task force, acted as IAML liaison, and was one of the Association’s first Sustaining Members.

An enthusiast of French music, he has edited and written prefaces for new editions of scores and provided pre-concert talks for an engaged public.  A tireless advocate for new librarians and diversity in the profession, he has mentored both music and library school students and helped launch the ARL/MLA Diversity & Inclusion Initiative. Attentive to his patrons and professionally generous to his fellow music librarians, his quiet yet consistent support has made a lasting impact on music librarianship and the future of the Music Library Association. The Music Library Association is pleased to confer upon David Gilbert the MLA Citation."




Past recipients

2015 Jane Gottlieb 2014 James P. Cassaro
2013 Bonna Boettcher
2009 Linda Solow Blotner

2008 A. Ralph Papakhian
2005 Joseph Boonin

2003 Paula Matthews
2001 Carol June Bradley
Stephen M. Fry
Melva L. Peterson

1999 Richard F. French
1998 Mary Wallace Davidson

1997 Ida Reed
1996 Don L. Roberts

1994 Susan T. Sommer
1993 Ann Basart

1991 Lenore Coral
1990 James B. Coover
Nicolas Slonimsky

1989 Thor E. Wood 1988 D.W. Krummel

1987 Barry S. Brook 1986 Ruth Watanabe
Dena J. Epstein

1985 Walter Gerboth 1984 Carleton Sprague Smith
Richard Angell

1983 William Schwann
Frank C. Campbell
1982 Florence Kretzschmar

1980 Anna Harriet Heyer
Vincent H. Duckles
1979 Otto Albrecht

1978 William J. Weichlein
Mary Lou Little
Edward E. Colby
1976 William Lichtenwanger

1974 Elizabeth Olmsted
Irene Millen
1971 Edward Waters
Harold Spivacke
Virginia Cunningham

1970 Kurtz Myers
1967 Mary Rogers

1966 Richard S. Hill
Catharine K. Miller
Philip L. Miller
Helen J. Sleeper
1965 George Sherman Dickinson
Barbara Duncan
Otto Kinkeldey
Eva Judd O'Meara